Week 11: Learn Canasta.

IMG_9272

Canasta is a card game mostly played with four players. For this challenge, there is actually the background story, which I am going to tell you. At my boyfriend’s parents’ house, there was a card game box with the german cartoon mouse Diddl on it, around the box they named several card games that can be played with that set of cards; the games being bridge, poker and canasta, if I remember correctly. The box came with a manual explaining the games, so I started reading it. As I came to the Canasta section, it said that the game is too compliacted to be explained briefly and that the players should refer to the extended canasta books or ask a someone who knows how to play the game. I was confused on why they even mention the game if they’re not going to explain how to play it.

Anyway I knew that my now flatmate plays Canasta with her family, so I told her what the Diddl manual said. She laughed at it saying that Canasta isn’t that difficult and that she would teach it to me. This story was stuck in her head for a couple of months and when my birthday came, she decided to make that a challenge. (For some cards I can make an educated guess to who has written the card.)

Screen Shot 2013-10-12 at 5.28.17 PM

Card games are fun. A pack of cards is small, easy to transport and you can play so many different games with it! That is what I call practical! And I like practical things.

Yesterday afternoon I sat down with Julia, the person mentioned above, and she taught me the rules of canasta. I must say I can’t wait to play it with more people. Sounds like a nerve wrecking game! Looking forward to teach it to my boyfriend’s grandparents and spending some friday evening fighting over cards!

40 cards to go!

IMG_3730

One thought on “Week 11: Learn Canasta.

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?

    Great work!

Leave a Reply

