Week 16: Do an Open mic.

This week’s challenge falls into the category “Things I never thought of doing”. It has never been something I felt the need to do, and if it wasn’t for the challenge I propably would have never done it. My singing skills are very poor, so putting myself out there and singing in front of people is frightening, but I still did it! This is probably the perks of having challenges written by your friends, you get to do things you never thought of doing and you send fanmail to a british pop-band.
IMG_9358
As I like to interlink different challenges I chose to perform Smelly Cat, the song Phoebe from Friends keeps singing on the show. Plus, it is a fairly short song, which means that I could run off stage after a minute. My dear friend Martin was planning on doing an open mic as it has been on his bucket list for a while. Knowing that I asked if I could be part of his performance and accomplish my challenge. You got it, I was trying to make this as easy as possible. Singing on stage with a friend is definitely more comfortable than being on my own. (And it was an honour to share that stool with you!)
For this post, I wanted to actually have less text and focus more on the video. I edited the footage myself and it was the first time that I worked on a video where syncing the video to the audio was important. It took a lot of time as it is tedious work, but I think I did quite alright. I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I do. I don’t have any singing skills whatsoever, so take that in consideration before starting the video.
Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 1.33.38 AM
Click here to see the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzBIAE19xwE
Some afterthoughts on the challenge:
I really enjoyed the challenge. It was something different and also harder in terms of overcoming obstacles. I quite enjoyed performing a song that is not meant to be serious, definitely took some pressure off and also it showed that I was doing this for fun. Obstacles overcome were obviously the fear of embarrassment, I am sure I don’t need to preach about this one again, you get my point. The message I take form this is that you don’t need to have exceptional skills, as long as you are having fun you will show enough confidence for other people to enjoy your performance!
35 Weeks to go!
Leave a Reply

