Week 23: Help someone achieve greatness.

Greatness. What does it mean? Am I supposed to guide someone to become the next world leader that will revolutionise the world with their principles? Or am I suppose to influence someone into doing charitable work? What is greatness?

IMG_0862

My definition of this challenge is, let’s say, smaller. I like to chunk big projects down into small doable steps. If you are setting yourself a goal, be concrete, find something that you can quantify. If I would rephrase this challenge, I would say “encourage someone to do something that moves them forward”. Greatness, in this concept, is for me, improving on your personality to achieve something you did not dare. Do something outside the box.

There is this guy, who is in his third year of university and I remember him telling me in his first year that a friend of him is involved in a german play organised by the Drama Society (not sure if that is actually the society) and that she asked him if he wanted to help out. In the end, he did not participate in the play. Then, a year later, he mentioned that play again (it is an annual project), telling me that the society is having another play, but that he would not have the time to do it because of his courses. Another year later -this year- he asked me if I think he should do it.

As you might know from reading this blog, I have adventured myself in the world of acting in 2012 and the outcome was beyond what I could even imagine. I have acquired valuable skills and confidence and also got new opportunities from it. It is without doubt one of the best thing I have done in my life and it is one of the few thing that I am really proud of. Seeing the results I got from my experience, there was no chance I would not push my friend to jump out of his comfort zone and go for it. I am a strong believer of leaving your comfort zone (in case you didn’t notice), so I encouraged him to go to the audition and asked him what his fears were. He has been telling me about this play, for three years now, it is obvious that he wants to do it and that if he didn’t do it this year, he would ask me again next year, and then after graduation regretting not taking part in it or at least trying.

Outcome? He went to the audition and got a part. Yay! I am really happy for him and I am glad that I could encourage him to go!

Message to take home: Encourage people to do something they actually want to but some obstacles are holding them back. By doing so, they might think they have this obligation towards you. Also, if there is something that you want to do, talk to people. This makes it less abstract and you feel guilty if you don’t go for whatever it is!

By the way, the friend I helped is actually my other half. I have decided not to specify it straight away as in my opinion this changes the way the text is read and perceived.

Challenge 23 done! 28 to go!

2 thoughts on “Week 23: Help someone achieve greatness.

Leave a Reply

