Week 26: Do not drink for a month.

Let’s talk about alcohol, baby! Assuming that my friend meant not drinking alcohol for a month with his card, of course. I had my last drink (2 bottles of good cold beer) after my last exam on the 27th January. Since then every beverage I had was absolutely 0% alcoholic.

IMG_9420

I am generally not a heavy drinker; I enjoy my bottle of beer, glass of wine at dinner and my gin&tonic regularly, but drinking alcohol is not an essential part of my life. Nonetheless, this challenge was trickier than I thought it would be. Back in July, when the cards were written and anticipated that the “sober-month” would just happen naturally and that I would not have to plan it in. Well, I was wrong… I do enjoy my drinks more than I realised. The countdown would be back to zero after at latest five days. So it was time for me to make the choice of not drinking and the challenge began.

It wasn’t hard to be off alcohol, it is like for everything, once you just get used to it, you don’t even think that you are missing something. It was just natural for me not to order my gin&tonic anymore. There were a couple of occasions when I was a tiny bit sorry that I couldn’t have a drink, but it didn’t feel like I was missing out on fun just because I was completely sober.

Alcohol is not a necessary thing in our lives, we decide to make it important or not. As long as we keep a good relationship with alcohol and are aware of our consumption, everything is just fine. Like I said it is the same like with anything else.

IMG_9384
Challenges that are left!

Anyway, the month is over and I will keep on enjoying my drinks, but it was nice to be made aware of how often I actually drink alcohol. Maybe someday when I will be on a crazy healthy diet, I will quit alcohol, but right now, I am going to refresh myself with a glass of white wine. Cheers!

Challenge 26 done, 25 to go!

Leave a Reply

